Updated 5 months ago


Understanding Domain Name, Domain Name Extension – TLD
- Written by ""

Understanding Domain Name, Domain Name Extension – TLD

Understanding Domain Name, Domain Name Extension – TLD

Understanding Domain Name

What is a domain name?

A Domain Name is the address of your Website. It is your online identity! Generally, it’s in the name of the business.

www.google.com is the domain name of Google Company. It is also an address of one of the most famous search engine on the planet.

The Domain name is simply a unique sequence of letters, numbers or both. These letters and numbers are separated by one or more dots, which act as a pointer to a unique numerical IP address on an Internet. Domain name is case insensitive.

Simply a domain name can be broken into three parts. Top Level Domain, Second Level Domain and Sub-Domain. As you can see in the above illustration.

  1. TLD: “.com” is TLD. It stands for Top Level Domain. It defines the Domain Name extensions in the DNS (Domain Name System) records of the Internet. TLD is used to identify the domains according to its purpose, type of organisation associated with it or the geographical location where it originates.
  2. Second Level Domain: “webenfolds” is Second Level Domain – It is the part of the domain name located to the left of the dot. It is also the actual name of your business or any unique name that you can associate with TLD.
  3. Subdomain – Third Level Domain: “www” is the subdomain. It is also known as a third level domain. This is the last level of any domain name.

Domain Name Extension or TLD

Domain Name ends with an extension such as .com, .org, .info etc. We have different types of the domain name, based on their extensions.

TLD has many types and each of it has a separate registry managed by a designated organisation under the direction of the ICANN (Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers).

Top level domains are classified into three categories. gTLD, ccTLD, and sTLD.

gTLD – Generic Top Level Domains: These are at the highest level of Domain Name extensions in the DNS record of the Internet.

  1. .com − Stands for company/commercial, but it can be used for any website.
  2. .net − Stands for network and is usually used for a network of sites.
  3. .org − Stands for an organisation and is supposed to be for non-profit bodies.
  4. .info − Stands for information and is usually used provide information.
  5. and more

ccTLD – Country code Top Level Domains: These are usually two letter domain extension established for geographical locations.

  1. .us – Represents United States.
  2. .in − Represents India.
  3. .au − Represents Australia.
  4. and more

sTLD – Sponsored Top Level Domains: These domain names are managed by private organisations. A sponsored TLD is a specialised top-level domain that has a sponsor representing a specific community served by the domain.

  1. .edu (Sponsor EDUCAUSE) – Stands for Education and usually used by the university.
  2. .gov (Sponsor General Services Administration) – Stands for Government and can only by used by government bodies.
  3. .aero (Sponsor SITA) – Members of the air-transport industry.
  4. .mobi (Sponsor dotMobi) – Providers and consumers of mobile products and services.
  5. .biz, .website, .rock and more


Selecting a perfect domain is very important. You can purchase your domain name based on the name of your firm. I suggest you get .com TLD first and buy the rest of the TLDs to safeguard your business identity.

Post Keywords / Tags

Response / Comments

Write your response or comment.


Explore More